St Wilfrid’s Pastoral Parish Council


The Pastoral Parish Council is a group of parishioners, preferably representing the various parish groups, who meet together throughout the year at regular intervals for about an hour’s meeting, to discuss ideas and ways to support the Parish Priest in his discharge of his parish duties and activities, subject to his supervision and overall control.

Origins of the present Parish Council  

The present Parish Council first met in July 2018, the members having been invited by the incoming Parish Priest (Peter Randall). 


 Andrew Dawson, Shirley Russo, Geoff Thompson, and Lee Unsworth.

Ex Officio Members

Maria Hall (Music Coordinator), Chris Lloyd (Parish Administrator), and Frs. Michael Ashworth, Paul Fletcher (Jesuit Superior) and Peter Randall.

Offices.  Chair: Geoff Thompson (July 2018)         Secretary: Shirley Russo

Rotation of membership and offices

Every 2 years three members stand down, and voting for the Chair and Secretary also takes place every 2 years.

The Parish Priest invites individuals to join the Council, and members are encouraged to suggest potential members.

The Chair and Secretary are voted in by the members (excluding the ex-officio members).  

Frequency of Parish Council Meetings

Every 2 months.

N.B. Due to the disruption of the COVID 19 pandemic there have not been any meetings since 15th January 2020. 

Want to know more?

You are welcome to contact the Parish Priest or any of the above mentioned members if you would like to know more, or might be interested in being considered for membership.

Minutes of the Latest Meeting

Agenda for the Next Meeting

(Unfortunately, we've not been able to have any meetings since lockdown began)

Scroll to Top